## **TOWN OF COTTESLOE**



### **PUBLIC EVENTS COMMITTEE**

# MINUTES

MAYOR'S PARLOUR, COTTESLOE CIVIC CENTRE 109 BROOME STREET, COTTESLOE 5.00PM, TUESDAY 21 NOVEMBER 2017

MAT HUMFREY Chief Executive Officer

18 April 2018

## **PUBLIC EVENTS COMMITTEE**

#### 1. DECLARATION OF MEETING OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

The Chief Executive Officer, delegated Presiding Member, announced the meeting open at 5.00pm.

#### 2. RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES

#### <u>Present</u>

Cr Melissa Harkins	Elected Member
Cr Rob Thomas	Elected Member
Cr Michael Tucak	Elected Member

#### **Officers Present**

Mr Mat Humfrey	Chief Executive Officer
Ms Garry Bird	Manager, Corporate and Community Services
Ms Sherilee Macready	Community Development Officer

#### **Apologies**

#### 3. ELECTION OF A PRESIDING MEMBER AND DEPUTY PRESIDING MEMBER

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Presiding Member. Cr Thomas nominated Cr Tucak who accepted the nomination. There being no other nominations, Cr Tucak was declared elected.

The Chair called for nominations for Deputy Presiding Member. Cr Thomas was nominated by Cr Tucak, who accepted the nomination. There being no other nominations, Cr Thomas was declared elected.

#### 4. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

#### Moved Cr Thomas, Seconded Cr Harkins

The Minutes of the meeting of the Public Events Committee held on 18 April 2017 be confirmed.

Carried 3/0

#### 5. 2018 CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD NOMINATIONS

#### 5.1 2018 CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD

Moved Cr Harkins, Seconded Cr Tucak

That the Committee recommend to Council that Sam Kaye is awarded the 2018 Citizen of the Year Award.

Carried 3/0

#### 5.2 2018 CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD – SENIOR

Moved Cr Harkins, Seconded Cr Tucak

That the Committee recommend to Council that Betty Flynn is awarded the 2018 Citizen of the Year Award – Senior, subject to checking with the nominator that this category is satisfactory.

Carried 3/0

#### 5.3 2018 ACTIVE CITIZENSHIP – COMMUNITY GROUP OR EVENT

Moved Cr Tucak, Seconded Cr Thomas

That the Committee recommend to Council that the W.A. Deaf Education History Group is awarded the 2018 Active Citizenship – Community Group Award.

Carried 3/0

#### 6. NEW BUSINESS OF AN URGENT NATURE

Cr Tucak suggested that the Administration regularly reviews the Town's Citizen of the Year Awards Policy to ensure it is in align with the Australia Day Council of Western Australia's parameters.

#### 7. MEETING CLOSURE

The Presiding Member announced the meeting closed at 5.43pm.