Community Citizen of the Year Awards

The Cottesloe Community Citizen of the Year Award recipients are:

Junior Citizen of the Year 2024

  • Austin Prentice

  • Charlotte House

Senior Citizen of the Year 2024

  • Owen Ashby

These awards seek to recognise outstanding individuals and organisations that have made significant contributions to our local community during the past year or those who have given exceptional service over a sustained period.

These contributions can take many forms, including but not limited to education, health, fundraising, voluntary services, business, employment, sport, arts, environment, social inclusion, or any other area that contributes to the betterment of the community.

There are four award categories:

  • Community Citizen of the Year - For individuals over 16 years;

  • Young Community Citizen of the Year - For individuals 16-30 years;

  • Senior Community Citizen of the Year - For individuals over 65 years; and

  • Active Citizenship Award - For community groups or events.

Nominations will open in August 2024.

Frequently asked questions

Who can nominate?

Anyone with local knowledge of the Cottesloe community and its active citizens may nominate.  These include:

  • Members of the public;

  • Individuals on behalf of a group or organisation; or

  • Local council, staff, and elected members.

The nominee will be given the opportunity to accept or decline their nomination once it's received by the Town of Cottesloe. We find that nominees are humble, full of community spirit and many are hesitant to accept this acknowledgement but accept so that those around them can celebrate their achievements and their cause. 

Eligibility Criteria

  • Self-nominations are not accepted. A person must be nominated by another person to be considered for an award.

  • One collective nomination is sufficient, multiple nominations will not necessarily strengthen an individual's chances of selection.

  • Individuals can be recognised in one category only, so if they cross over multiple categories, a decision needs to be made about which category they will be awarded in.

  • Nominees should reside or work principally within the local government authority presenting the Award.

  • Awards may be granted posthumously in recognition of recent achievements.

  • Groups of people will not normally be eligible except when meeting the criteria for a community group.

  • A couple or partnership with equal standing for the achievement/contribution may be recognised in an individual category.

  • A person may receive an award more than once in recognition of outstanding continued community contribution or involvement in a different initiative.

  • Individuals must be at least 16 years of age on 26 January, though younger nominees may be considered for exceptional contribution. The definition of exceptional contribution is at the discretion of the local government selection committee.

  • Unsuccessful nominees/ finalists may be nominated in future years.

  • Sitting members of State, Federal, and Local Government are not eligible.

  • Nominations must be apolitical in their nature.

How do I nominate a person or group?

Visit the Aspire website to find out more, collate information on your nominee to support your submission and nominate your community star. The online Nomination Form is available here. 

Why should I nominate?

Nominating is the perfect way to say thank you. It's a terrific way to show your nominee that their contribution is seen, appreciated and making a difference.  Eighty one percent of recipients feel a greater sense of community belonging when they are nominated showing that there is an appreciation for being seen. 

When should I nominate?

Nominations are open from 1 August 2024 to 31 October 2024, early submissions are encouraged.