Local Government Elections

The Town of Cottesloe Council comprises of 9 Elected Members, which is made up of a Mayor, who represents the district as a whole, and 8 Councillors. Until the October 2023 Local Government Election, each Councillor will represents one of the Town's four Wards with each Ward represented by two Councillors. Following the election, all Ward system will be removed and all Councillors will represent the entire district of Cottesloe. 

Local government elections are held every two years on the third Saturday in October.  The next election will be held on 21 October 2023.

Councillors are elected for terms of four years in Western Australia. Elections are held every two years for half of the council, and candidates are elected using the first-past-the-post voting system. If a vacancy occurs within a term, an extraordinary election is held.

The Town of Cottesloe has generally appointed the Western Australian Electoral Commission as the Returning Officer to conduct a postal election for the Town. By making the Electoral Commissioner responsible for these elections, the local governments concerned ensure that elections are conducted independently and with impartiality.

For local government elections, rolls close at 5.00pm, 50 days prior to polling day. All electors should check their enrolment details are up to date before rolls close.

If the number of candidates is equal to the number of vacancies, the candidate is elected unopposed. If there are more candidates than vacancies, the election will proceed.

For postal elections, all eligible electors will receive a postal voting package around three weeks prior to polling day.  The package will include a list of candidates, ballot papers, instructions on how to vote and a declaration. To vote, follow the instructions included in the package.

The Returning Officer must receive your postal voting package before 6.00pm on polling day. If you do not think that your postal voting package can be returned by post in time, you can deliver it by hand to a polling official.

While voting in a local government election is not compulsory in Western Australia, all electors are strongly encouraged to vote.

Key Dates

2023 Local Government Ordinary Election

Monday, 14 August 2023, 6.00pm

Prospective Candidates Information Session

Friday, 25 August 2023, 5.00pm

Electoral roll closes

Thursday, 31 August 2023

Candidate nomination period

Saturday, 21 October 2023

Election Day - postal votes counted and results announced

Public Notices regarding the Election




Visit all Town of Cottesloe Public Notices


Voting is strongly advised for Local Government Elections; however, it is not compulsory in Western Australia.

Electors will be able to vote via post or in person at the polling location on Saturday 21 October 2023. The Australian Electoral Commission has advised that Election Packages will be sent in late September 2023. The polling location details for Cottesloe are:

Saturday 21 October 2023

Lesser Hall - Cottesloe Civic Centre

109 Broome Street, Cottesloe

Polls close at 6.00pm