Published on Monday, 29 January 2024 at 1:09:41 PM


Congratulations to the Town of Cottesloe 2024 Citizen of the Year Award winners, announced on Saturday, 27 January at a Citizenship Ceremony and Citizen of the Year Awards event held at Memorial Park and hosted by the Town of Mosman Park.


The Town of Cottesloe Senior Community Citizen of the Year award was presented to Owen Ashby, in recognition of his significant contribution to the Cottesloe and wider community through his 60 year membership, leadership and service with Cottesloe Surf Life Saving Club. Owen joined the club at a young age in 1961 and became an active patrolling volunteer lifesaver in 1963 when he obtained his surf Bronze Medallion award. Owen was also an active competitor with the club in surf boat racing over 20 years. He has volunteered in many positions and has been a member on many committees of the Club for 15 years. As a Vietnam Veteran, Owen is also a member of the Cottesloe Returned and Services League WA and has been involved in the organisation of the Town of Cottesloe ANZAC DAY ceremony for over 12 years.


The Town of Cottesloe Young Community Citizen of the Year award was jointly presented to Charlotte House and Austin Prentice.


Both Charlotte and Austin are enthusiastic contributors to the Cottesloe community through their commitment to Cottesloe Coastcare. Charlotte has been a Coastcare volunteer for over three years, which began through school commitments. Her dedication and interest in environmental work has seen her continue on with volunteering. She is happy to contribute to all roles at Cottesloe Coastcare with zest and enthusiasm, even when the weather is not kind. Austin is also an inspiration for his enthusiasm and commitment, challenging himself in his environmental and conservation interests. He is a dedicated Coastcare volunteer and a well informed and enthusiastic hand weeder. Both Charlotte and Austin also volunteer with other environmental organisations.


The Town of Cottesloe congratulates our 2024 Community Citizen of the Year Award winners (Senior and Young) and thanks them for their continued contribution to the community.

Back to All News